Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? University students should be required to attend classes

It has been long discussed whether or not the students should be required to attend classes. Some people may disagree with this view; however, in my opinion, it is crucially important for school to ask students to go to classes. The following are the reasons for my stance on this subject.

First and foremost, attending classes can help students expand their social circle. Students can discuss and exchange ideas together during class. Therefore, it is a beneficial way for students to develop their friendships. For instance, by attending the class, students can foster their friendships through cooperation and discussion with their classmates. On the contrary, since it is a good chance for students to meet new friends in classes which consist of lots of students. If students did not go to the class in person, they would have less chance to meet new friends. As a result, students can make friends easily by attending classes.

In addition, attending classes can help students study effortlessly. According to the latest survey conducted by the Ministry of Education, 97 percent of students think that going to class can help them study more effectively. Take my personal experience for example, as a college student, because of the covid-19, schools use online resources to teach instead of going to classes (in-person lectures). However, there are a great number amount of disadvantages for students not attending the class in person, including a lack of interaction in class, which makes it is difficult for teachers to check all students whether they are following. Another disadvantage is that it is harder for students to discuss with a group.

To sum up, judging from the points elaborated in the previous paragraphs, because attending classes can not only help students not only expand their social circle but also learn more effectively, I think that Universities should require students to attend classes.