In general, people are living longer now. Which of the following do you think accounts for this phenomenon?

Technological improvements

Changes to education systems

Improvements to our diets

Use specific details and examples in your answer. You may choose more than one cause.

The extension of life is a very challenging problem. There are many approaches that have contributed to it. Personally, I believe that advancements in technology make huge progress in human longevity.

First of all, people managed to decode human DNA, making a big impact on health science. By reading our genomes scientists can easily understand what diseases are possible for every person. this means that with the correct guidance the possible patient can prevent the development of this illness. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was born, I made a DNA test which predicted that I will have a serious back problem in 10 years. However, as my parents learned about this, they got advice from doctors about how I could prevent the development of this issue. So, I started to visit regularly a physiotherapist who was an expert in dealing with these problems. The result is that I have never developed this issue. If technology has not made these advancements, maybe today I would be paralyzed in my bed.

Secondly, many labs today with the help of technology can produce a mass amount of pharmacies and make them available around the world. Third world countries used to have a very low score in longevity because many people died young from malaria or other dangerous diseases. However, as technology makes them available also there, it has contributed to reductions in these deadly illnesses. For instance, about 10 years ago, the death rate in Kenya under 35 years was 60%. today, because people there have better access to medication care, this rate has dropped to 20%. Another example is the virus of HIV. Many people in Africa died from AIDS. The governments there could not prevent the spreading of the virus as there were not enough condoms. So, only rich people could afford their prices. Nowadays, factories can produce huge amounts of them and supply all the people that need them.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the big steps that were made in the technology in the last years have contributed the most to live extension. This is because with the use of current technology doctors can predict future diseases and produce a big amount of pharmacies and vaccines.