People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work?

Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

Billions of people wake up early in the morning every day in order to work. A job is a nice opportunity to get a salary and so to pay the cost of living. Although, money is not the only reason that people work. Sometimes individuals work because they want to feel useful in their society and to communicate with the colleagues.

First of all, everyone wants to contribute something to the place where he lives and often he can do it by his job. people are social creatures, who feel very happy when they help their team and feel that they have an important role in it. For instance, a teacher who learns children to read. she knows that with her job, she offers a great value to the society that is even more important than money. this feeling to help others gives great motivation to individuals. Imagine doctors, they often spend more than 20 hours per day to make a surgery because they want to save their patient. it is difficult to achieve this motivation with money.

Second, many people prefer to work than to retire as they love to communicate with their colleagues. The working environment is a great place for discussing with other people. Usually, fellows have many commons experience so it is easy for them to speak about a topic. this communication is essential for welfare of a person. For example, my father when he used to work he was very happy as he has a lot of friends in his job, but after retirement, he got depression as he misses a lot of this communication. Moreover, in the office is the best place to learn the news as during coffee breaks you can discuss many other things that are not related to the job. so a person at work can broaden his knowledge in this way.

To sum up, people do not work only for money. There are other important motivators as the feeling to be useful and communication in the workplace. I believe a person who enjoys his job he is more productive.