If you want to choose a purpose, which one do you choose?

• Helping other people

• Enhancing time management

• Improving physical well-being and eating healthy food

Every decision made by people affects various aspects of their lives in different ways. One of the most important decisions is to set a goal for future life. Among the choices given, I would choose to help others, and I will demonstrate my viewpoint in the following essay.

To begin with, helping others boosts self-esteem, gives a sense of well-being, and brings happiness. There is an intrinsic inclination in human beings to play a useful role in society. Supportive people feel satisfied with helping their friends, colleagues, family members, and even strangers, no matter what kind of help they provide, money, sharing their information, or just giving a piece of advice. This gives them a sense of pride in themselves that they are a responsible member and play a positive role in their community, which consequently brings them inner happiness and self-worth. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I joined a charity group last year, which helped poor people and labor children to become literate. Before joining the group, I suffered from severe depression. After contributing to the group and teaching labor children, I felt that my mental health had changed considerably. I felt delighted after watching those little children being happy for learning how to read and write. I decided to keep on helping that campaign eradicate illiteracy. I realized that my depression symptoms had gradually been alleviated significantly. I am sure this was because of my activity in the charity and the self-esteem it endowed me. If I had not helped those children, I would not have got rid of that severe depression. So helping others increases self-satisfaction and has a positive impact on people's lives.

Secondly, helping others offers people the opportunity to expand their social circle, build stronger bonds, and receive help when they are in trouble. People who always try to help others seem very attractive and friendly to their surrounding people and give off positive vibes, so they are very likely to make new friends. Moreover, they are in an ecosystem where they will attract other good people, helping them establish healthy and positive friendships. Regarding their current relations, as their family and friends know about their supportive personality, they would have a better sense of them and try to help them whenever they need it. For example, my uncle always tries to have a positive impact on people's lives. Because of his personality and voluntary activities and help, he has found great friends with positive personalities, and anyone who knows him loves him. Once, his car set on fire, and he was distraught. But it did not even last for one week because his friends and acquaintances gathered some money and helped him buy a new car. In fact, he received help from others who knew him and appreciated his help because of his own help.

In conclusion, I would choose to help others because it increases self-esteem and satisfaction and because it helps to establish positive relations and to receive help when needed.