Imagine that you are a student at a university where there are long breaks between semesters. The university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break.

- Students must take a course which has no direct connection to their major (for example, students majoring in engineering take a course in fine arts or social sciences)

- Students must volunteer to work on a project in their university’s city or hometown to improve some aspect of life in the city or hometown. For example, a student can work with primary school children who need help with their homework.

Which one do you prefer? Present reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although many believe take a cource which is irrelevent to students major is beneficial for them, I on the other hand beleive volunteer work in the cities is more beneficial for them. I will address the most discernible reasons why I feel this way below.

To begin with, in my country university students just learn theoritical khowledge. Thus, if they work volunteery in the city, it helps them put their khnowledge in to the practice. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I studied mechanical engeneering when I was student. Some of my friends had part time job, but unfortunately, I did not have apportunity to have part time job when I was student and I saw how they did well in the universirty and got high grade. One day of of my professor adviced me work in his company as a volunteer. I accepted that and it was one of my best decsion, because in his car making company I have to used what I studied knowledge such as areodynamics, material structure and so on. The result was amazing, in the class I learnd more effciently, in order to I used and saw how this knowledge work in real work. Accordingly, I believe if student work on a project in the city they are more succesful in the university.

Moreover, university student has fresh mind and unique idea, which means taht they will help to improve the city. Many cities in my country faces many challenging situation, becaue the lake of enough money. Therefore, volunteer students could help to improve or even bulid cities failities and infrastructre. For instance. In my country stdents should do some vulenteer projects, in order to graduate. Every year students come to my city, Isfahan. My city has a beutifull river in it’s center, but unfortunately becaue of years of drought it is drieand off. But one volunteer student great idea solved that problem. However, at the begging that idea seemed imposible but after more reaserch the authorities implement that and solve our city problem. It illustrate that how volunteer students are able to improve cities.

In conclusion, it is for all aforementioned reasons, I firmly beleive volunteer work in the unversity’s city is beter for students because they use what they learn in the class and will learn better they theoritical curces, and because they can help to cities bad conditions.