importance of telling the truth

Relations between people are based on many factors such as: love, respect, honest, and trust. All of these factors are essential for a successful relation. Failing to fulfill one of them may lead to the end of it. In my opinion telling truth is the most important factor of them. Reasons for this point of view are discussed in the following passage.

First, relations between friends are based in the first place on truth. True friendship can’t do without truth otherwise it will be a false relation. People can’t reveal their secrets or to share their dreams and plans of the future with friends whom they don’t trust. If friends are lying about their feelings or fabricating news about their lives, sooner or later one or all of them will discover this habit. That’s when they start to treat each other in a very different way. They will have cold feelings and a sense of indifference toward each other. For me, it happened that I got to know people who were claiming to be friends of mine, but I realized that they were after their personal benefit, only when I decided to exit this relationship.

Secondly, not only does telling truth has effect on personal relationships but it affects the community as a whole in many different ways. For example, in a community where truth is not appreciated, a witness may change his testimony if he was paid well. This way an innocent man might go to prison for life or to be hanged for something that he didn’t do. Another example is of a sellers who sell rotten fruits, malfunctioning devices, or even unhealthy food as if they are good. In a community like that life will be unbearable.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that telling truth is very important for personal deals and can impact the community itself too. Telling truth is crucial for relations between partners, friends, or traders. Unfortunately, there is no law to enforce people to tell truth, hence if they don’t believe in it catastrophic consequences might happen.