It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects to specialize in one specific subject.

There is a common argument in academics weather broad knowledge or specific subject is better. In my opinion, it is better for students to have both considering the competitive working environment nowadays. Both broad and specific knowledge has huge benefits to students and they have a positive influence on each other. What is more important, from my perspective, it is that students know how to utilise the knowledge and skills learning from school.

There is no doubt that it is beneficial for students to gain as much knowledge as possible whether it is broad or specify. with broad knowledge, students are able to know how the world works and tend to be more curious. With the knowledge of a specific subject, students have a deep understanding so that they can contribute to their work. Besides, both have a positive influence on each other. They help students to learn knowledge better.

Perhaps even more importantly, after gaining the knowledge from school, they should have the ability to use those in real life. If students learn knowledge but don’t know how to use it. Then it is just surface leaning rather than understanding. A technology company, like Apply, become outstanding is not only because of the advanced technology used in their products, but also the fantastic design. It is the combination of knowledge in different areas but also requires a deep understanding in each subject, which makes their product unique and occupying a favourable position in the marketplace. So, utilizing the knowledge to make a benefit is important from my perspective.

Overall, it is better for students to have both broad and specific knowledge considering the competitive world. More importantly, it is the ability to utilise the knowledge to make a difference.