the extended family is now less important than it was in the past.

Today it is popular to believe that the extended family, such as grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles, is not as important as the past. I strongly agree with this notion, but it doesn’t mean they did not play a big role in our life. With the development of the society, it is the transition from collectivism to individualism and the development of the technology that contributes to decrease the importance of the extended family in our life.

When recalling the evolution of human society, it is from the form of the tribe to a big family and now it is more likely to live in a relatively smaller family, which only includes parents and kids. At the same time, people immigrated from the countryside to the city, which requires much more independence than before because of the pressure of the high living cost. Nowadays, employers tend to require that employees work longer working hours to earn a living in this competitive world. On top that, people not only want to earn a living but also work for a ‘better’ life. So, people pay much more attention to themselves than ever before. Now people have less time to spend with their family, let alone the extended family.

Perhaps another reason is the development of technology which provides convenient transportation and connection with others. At these days, it is quite common for people to immigrate to another city or even another country because of work, study or something else. It could increase the physical distance between people and their extended family. What’s more, the mental distance has a significant increase because of the internet. It is far way easier to find someone who shares the same interests and value online and the generation gap might cause extended family don’t understand each other easily. So, the interaction with extended family decreased comparing with the past and thus they are less important nowadays.

In conclusion, extended family tend to be less important than before because of the transition of society and the physical and mental distances caused by technology.