It is better to work for business owned by someone else than to work for the business of one’s own family.

Conventional wisdom generally believes that it is better for a person to work for the business for his or her own family, since working for own family generally means that one can avoid the likelihood to get hurt or be punished by some unfriendly leaders or co-workers. Therefore, people will not break their confidence. Working for other people’s business, on the other hand, is usually believed to be negative by many people, no matter we are speaking of the relationships between workers, stipends and so on. Nevertheless, considering my own experiences, I have a totally different perspective on this issue and prefer to endorse that working for other people’s business may be a better choice. In order to clarify my point of view, I will state from two aspects as followings:

First off, it is a good opportunity for people to exercise themselves throughly. Many people always believes that he or she has been mature enough to get out of their parents’ control, and they have the ability to take their family’s business. Therefore, providing such people the opportunity to working in a totally strange business can test if he or she is mature enough. In this regard, I have a typical example to share, which is a story about myself. When I was graduated form university, I once thought I was the best in the world. And it is time to do something special. I talked to my dad and requested him to arrange a job in his company. However, after hearing what I have said, my dad refused my request and he proposed that I was not mature enough to get a job in his family. Instead, he suggested me to find a job in the market on my own. After I strived to find a job and worked for my boss for a year, I started to know how weak was I and the knowledge I had to learn was still infinite. Finally, after long time’s exercise, I was sure that I can mange my work, instead of orally.

Furthermore, working for other people’s business is beneficial for people to extend their network of relationships. People can make more friends, who may improve one’s work efficiency. Walking out of your narrow loop and meeting more people can definitely be an interesting and audacious thing. I usually provided my dad’s experience at this point. Once graduated from university, my grandpa asked my dad to work for our own family’s business, my dad refused and decided to do something on his own. He managed to know people, find the market’s rule and be successful by himself. After my grandpa retired, my dad took his positions and my family’s business has been more prosperous. Once my family’s business met a serious problem, my dad decided to ask help from an old friend, who knew my father when he was still working for others. The people helped my dad. And my family’s business walked out of woods finally.

In a nutshell, from what has been stated above, we can safely draw the conclusion that working for the business owned by other people is a better choice because people can improving themselves and broaden his or her network of relationships.