It is important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that it is more important to keep old friends than to make new friends while others refute the claim. Personally, I believe that it is important to keep old friends rather than to make new friends for three reasons: there will be special bond with old friends, they will be ready to help us anytime, and it will be hard to find friends like them again .

To start with, many of us have old friends and we have special bonding with them. Old friends are just like the members of our family. Whenever we feel alone we can spend our time with old friends. We can share our feelings with them because they understand us. We can trust our friends with whom we are very close. For instance, when I was in grade two than I made a new friend and since that day he is still my special friend. While spending time with him I feel like I am spending time with my brother. We share all our secrets with each other. When I am sad or depressed then he tries to comfort me and when I am happy then he tries to involve in my happiness. On the contrary, new friends just come and go. In each and every step of our life we get many friends but they won't be special like old friends. Some friends may be just for college life whereas some may be just in workplaces. Neither we can share them anything nor we feel much comfortable to enjoy with them.

Next, Old friends are the true meaning of "A friend in need is a friend indeed". They are ready to help us when we are in great problem. When we really need someone's help then there are our old friends. They won't feel uncomfortable to help us. They just take our problem as their own problem and try to find some solutions. I remember when I was in grade eight I was not able to focus on my final exam because I was concentrating on my football tournament. So, I had to pay two thousand rupees fine for being fail in the final exam. At that time I was in great in trouble. I couldn't ask money with my parents because I hadn't told them that I failed the exam. Then, I told about my problem to my best friend and he immediately helped me to sort out the problem. He gave me the money to pay the fine. On the other hand, if we are in such trouble then new friends won't be ready to help us. They will just feel uneasy to help. Instead they might see us negatively and doubt on our character. It may happen because there is no trust between them and us. So, I believe it is better in keeping the old friends rather than making new friends.

Finally, Old friends are very precious for us. We can’t just let them go. If we do not keep old friends then we will miss one important part of our life. We will have to suffer alone. When we will have hard times then there will be no one to comfort r support us. There will be no one with whom we can share our secrets. All these things happens because new friends can’t be like old friends. It may take more than five years to understand each other and till that time we may even not be in contact because new friends are just for some time in our life. Neither new friends will be their during our problems nor we will be with them when they face problems in their life. We may be completely strangers for each other. For instance, we may not recognize friends made in college life after fifteen years. But this will not be the case for old friends. Old friends are forever with us. Although they may not be physically present, their love and support will be with us throughout our life.

In short, it is better to preserve old friends rather than to make new friends because of their trust, love and support for us.