It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Some people think that making new friends is more beneficial and fun than keeping relationships with old friends. However, in my opinion, keeping old friends is way more important than making new ones because I simply have so much fun with my old friends, and they are my best advisors. Let me tell you about a friend of mine named Daisy. She is my oldest and best friend.

To begin with, Daisy and I have known each other for a longtime, over 15 years. She knows what food I like the most, what kind of movies that I would choose as the best, and she can even list all of my ex-boyfriends! 15-years is not a short time, a decade and half. During that time, we have shared a lot of thoughts, lifestyles, values of life, preferences, and a sense of humor. Thus, she knows my behavior patterns and verbal habits. In other words, what she wants to do is exactly the same as what I want to do. I’ve never bothered to ask her what we are going to do next, while we are hanging out. There’s been no fighting or serious arguing between us. Without any stressful situations, we have made use of every minute so that we enjoy the time we spend together.

On top of that, Daisy is the best advisor in my life. The reason for this is that she not only knows me better than I know myself, but she also cares about me more than anyone else. We have faced similar situations that we had to go through, such as applying to a college or relationship problems with others. Also, she has seen and heard all of my hardships and worries, and I am sure that she is the one friend who has listened to me sincerely. When I was in college, I struggled with my future. I was eager to graduate and have a job, but, in my mind unconsciously, I had a little hope of getting a master’s degree and going abroad to study. One day I called her, and she realized my interest right away. She encouraged me to go to a graduate school and I did. That was the most immeasurable choice I have ever made.

To sum up, it is fun and fresh to make new friends and build a new network. Even though they are helpful in the way that a group of various connections and networks are, people who actually influence you the most are your oldest of friends.