Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think the extended family is still important for one’s to be sociable and amiable. However, in my opinion, the extended family has a trivial impact on people in modern society due to the changes in purpose for the creation of family and different ways of having chances to socialize.

To begin with, people in the past lived on farming with agricultural lifestyles so that they had to make birth as many as possible to meet the needs of labors. Naturally, it created the extended family grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles living together. However, modern society is not an agriculture society. People get involved in many different jobs and work in various places like factories, offices, schools, and even foreign countries. You name it! Still, some people have cultivated grains and planted vegetation, even they don’t need to have many human resources since they can employ machinery for farming lands. So to speak, the main purpose of the extended family is gone which led its importance to get lower than before.

On top of that, there are a bunch of ways for children to socially improve. Those who advocate the importance of the extended family might want to assert that this kind of family is helpful for children to fit in a bigger society by interacting with many family members. However, the internet changes a lot in terms of communication and social activity. Although children don’t have a large number of families, they can interact with a lot of unknown others which is more helpful for them in a way that they got an opportunity to deal with unfamiliar people. Learning how to treat new people can be more important in society because everyone outside the house will be a stranger. Take the example of my cousin who is a teenager. After getting a mobile phone, she took part in a soccer club online and chatted with members of the club sharing ideas about soccer and overall sports. Later, they made an appointment and gathered physically to play soccer in the playground of her school. Finally, they got along well and have been keeping good relationships for now. I bet my cousin learn a lot about her social life not from her family but from her soccer club originated from online.

To sum up, I admit valuable lessons from the family. Especially the more family members are, the more you may get something from them. But I am sure that its influence becomes less and less since the purpose of the family was changed and children can engage in social activities on the internet.