It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Before giving my opinion, i guess it is crucial to take a quick glance at arguments on both sides. Even though some people may hold the view that understanding is more important, others belive that students dont need to have a good grip of all materials, and in some cases learning would be enough. From my own prespective, i agree with the first group who believe that understanding is more important. These are some reason that will support my statement above.

First reason coming to my mind is that students need to deeply understand about ideas and concepts of the material they learned. It is crucial for students to perceive the materials so that they could exert it carefully in the future. For example, when i was in highschool I didn’t understand anything about math, specially algebra, because my teacher didn’t teach me about the whole concept about it. So, I decided to take a math tutor outside the school. Luckily, my tutor taught me about concepts and ideas about how to solved algebra. And from then I knew how important to understand the whole concepts and ideas to solved a problem both in school and in daily activities.

Next, students who have fully understanding materials help students to think critically. In other words, they able to criticize every piece of information that they deal with in their entire life. The researcher substantiate that individuals who can think critically have a better chance to cope the modern life issues such as anciety, stress, even fear that comes from surrounding environment. As well as, the individuals who can think critically have a lower chance to comite a suicide, which is a big issue among the teenagers event adults

Last but not least, the comprehension of concepts and ideas creates more skillful individuals and improves the quality of the education process. Students can develope the facts if they understand the whole concepts and ideas of the materials. In other words, it will helps students to learn facts better and memorize them easily. For instance, by learning concepts behind math, psychic, or chemistry formula, students do not need to memorize it. In fact, they can make the formula from the concepts whenever they need.

To sum up, I believe that having a deep understanding about concepts and ideas will help students to face not only their problems at school, but also in their life.