money

In modern society, books or TV programs about successful businessman are becoming increasingly prevalent since people want to learn something about how to achieve success from them. when it comes to which is the original purpose of earning money, some people hold the view that people care more about public recognition than about money, even if no more money is given, public recognition can still make people work harder. As far as I am concerned, this statement works only when people already have enough money.

To begin with, money is absolutely the fundamental demand of our daily lives. In this contemporary society, most of the stuffs we need require money, without which life can hardly operate. In addition, as mature individuals, we own the responsibility to take care of our families and provide them with a high quality life. during the period of inflation, more money is required to ensure the children’s education and families’ medical insurance. According to Maslow's hierarchy of needs, individuals are not willing to pursue some high level requirement such as recognition until their basic requirement, such as money, has been satisfied. Consequently, for most people, money is the foremost thing to be considered.

What is more, money can be utilized to broaden social circle or improve oneself. As we know, no one can achieve success without others’ help, that is to say, sometimes whether you will succeed depends on how many friends you have. friends can give us plenty of useful suggestions and precious opportunities, which may help us a lot during the process of the pursuit of happiness. therefore, sometimes money can be used to consort successful people or join in some meets among the upper class, in which you need to wear decent clothes. Additionally, in order to achieve success, we need to improve our knowledge and experience. therefore, taking some courses or training and buying helpful books are essential to improve ourselves. In a word, during the process of achieving success, money is indispensable if you want to go further.

Admittedly, social recognition would be taken into consideration if people already have enough money. In Maslow's hierarchy of needs mentioned above, social recognition is a higher level requirement, when the basic necessities of life has been satisfied with money, individual start to regard things like recognition as their life pursuit. As the case stands, even there’s no money paid, they will be still willing to work hard to pursue respect, realize their personal value or even change the world like Steve Jobs.

Based on the analysis from all the evidence provided above, I can reasonably reaffirm that money is the fundamental requirement when people work hard, while public recognition would be taken into account only when they have enough money.