Question :Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

People have differing views with regard to the idea of whether it is more important to watch or read news in one side, either agree or disagree with our opinion. While some people believe that news should be compatible with their ideas, I disagree with the idea and believe that news must be both-sided.

The first reason is that reading or watching the news should be informative in all aspects. At present, technological development has made great progress in accessing the best and more accurate news that happened all around the world. This means that most people are trying to follow the news to know a various range of news from their own country to global news. It, therefore, is more important to follow those kinds of news that cover all of the aspects, rather than those that express only one side of the news. In other words, this kind of news not only would not be useful, but also have some negative consequences such as unknown with other important subjects happened. Finally, to have comprehensive knowledge of the news, it is more beneficial to read or watch news considering both sides of opinion.

Another subtle point is that we cannot contribute positively to discussion if we see only one side of the news. In our globalized world, individuals can expect to come into contact with more people who have different backgrounds. It is more important to communicate with them properly. For example, we likely have a chance to negotiate or discuss with someone around a specific matter that happened in the world. Having competent knowledge around that matter plays an important role in our success if we wish to remain successful. In my view, watching or reading news can serve to educate us and maybe act as a talking point or landmarks in our discussion. If we see one side of the subject, even agree with them or not, it is likely that we fail in that negotiation or discussion.

In conclusion, it is clear that having comprehensive knowledge around subject and news leads to be more successful in any discussion.