Schools always collect information about teachers' teaching performance and give rewards to those teachers who

perform well. Which way do you think is more useful?

1.to evaluate teachers' performance by students.

2.to evaluate teachers' performance by teachers? Why?

Use specific reasons and details to support WHY

Evaluation of teaching performance by students’ assumptions and evaluation by teachers’ perspectives have their advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, evaluation from students is more effective than those from teachers. I feel the way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, teachers teach students in class directly so students are more familiar with their teaching’s teaching styles. In this way, teachers can be judged fairly. However, if teachers are evaluated by themselves, they may make some mistakes since they do not even meet before.

For example, at the end of the last term, our school planned to evaluate teachers’ performance by themselves. Most teachers were very passionate and excited when they first heard the news. Several days later, they started to find they were not able to give correct evaluation due to their ignorance of other teachers’ pedagogical methods. As a result, a lot of teachers complained about the improper assessment so that they were sometimes absent-minded in class. This example demonstrates how valuable familiarity-based evaluation can be.

Additionally, there are far more students than teachers at university so the evaluation from a large group is universal. If one teacher made a wrong mistake in the evaluation process, the negative result will be obvious. On the other hand, when one student did not evaluate their teacher correctly, it will not affect the whole situation too much. My older brother’s experience proves this is true. When he first arrived at school, he was unable to be adaptive to the whole brand new environment. He started to blame this to his professor and he believed his professor is not good at teaching. At the end of his semester, he gave a D to his professor. Nonetheless, his professor rewarded by his school because most other students gave him high reputations. Thus, a common and general evaluation from a large group of students is more convincing and reliable.

In conclusion, I feel strongly that evaluation which comes from students are preferable to those from teachers themselves. This is because such evaluation is based on familiarity and because this evaluation is from a big group.