Some famous athletes and entertainers earn millions of dollars every year. Do you
think these people deserve such high salaries? Use specific reasons and examples
to support your opinion.
These days, there is a controversy concerning the millions of dollars that famous
athletes and entertainers earn every year. Some people say that these celebrities are
overpaid and do not deserve such high salaries for what they do. On the other hand,
others believe that the celebrities deserve it. I agree with the latter opinion because
people have the right to earn as much money as they can as long as they do it legally,
and because celebrities are paid what the market for their skills bring.
First of all, in free democratic societies, people have the right to earn as much
money as they are legally capable of. Some business people, doctors, and lawyers
also earn millions of dollars every year. In a democracy, people have the right to earn
money in exchange for their skills. When people have talent and work hard to
develop it, they have as much opportunity as anyone else to earn a large salary.
Most celebrities and professional athletes worked hard developing themselves to get
to where they are in their professions. As members of a democratic society, they
have the freedom to do so. As long as celebrities are making their money legally,
there is no reason why they should not receive large salaries.
In addition, celebrities and athletes are receiving what the market will allow. This is
one aspect of capitalism. Entertainment is a business. A popular baseball team can
bring millions, or even billions, of dollars into an economy. The players are the
reason for the economic money flow, so that makes them and their skills valuable
commodities. Furthermore, when a city has a successful baseball team, the entire
city receives economic benefits due to the performance of the players. If celebrities
or athletes perform poorly over an extended period of time, they lose value on the
market and their salary will fall. Those are the rules of the open market.
Finally, actors and athletes deserve high salaries because they work very hard at
what they do. Athletes often spend hours training and film stars work on their lines
and filming scenes for months, this is why they deserve to be paid an amount
commensurate to the time and work they put in doing what they do. They also have
to pay their agents, publicist, cleaners, nannies, stylists a lot of money for their
services. Celebrities also sacrifice a lot to do what they do so many of them don’t get to enjoy family time, relationships, being able to go in public without getting
attention.
To conclude, I believe that athletes and entertainers deserve these salaries because
they have the right to earn as much money as they want as long as it is legal and
they have the right to receive what they are worth in a free market society.