Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Having a child who performs great in school and achieves high grades is the dream of many parents. Besides good scores are representative of more intelligent and abilities of a youngster. Parents have different ways to help their children to achieve this goal. Some parents reward their kids by giving them money for their exceptional score. Although some people may reprimand this approach, I concur with it. In the ensuing lines, I will explain two reasons to substantiate my response.

First, setting goals which bring about precious rewards can act as a good motivation for children to do as well as they can. Not all students are self-motivated, therefore, parents need a logical way to encourage them and rewarding with money is a genius idea. In this way, studying would not be a mundane and useless task and after a while, studying may turn into a pleasurable habit for the children. Needless to say that if parent force kids to do a task, they will negative results so by rewarding them parents do not need to fight with their children and force them to study which can be frustrating. Take my 12-year-old brother as an example, when he was in fourth grade he used to play with his friends and avoiding studying and his scores degraded drastically and my parents did everything but they failed. So poor was his grades that my parents decided to do something different; they promised him if he gets high scores in the final exam, they will buy him a play station with a brand new bicycle that both of them were his favorite things. As a result, he ranked second in his class.

Second, by this approach children learn about the value of money and truth of the real world since young ages. studying is a hard task for many children and that is the reason they avoid it. When children know they earn money in the event that they study hard, they understand how tough is making money which is a precious lesson for their adulthood. Besides, they understand that the real world’s rules are the same and if they try enough they deserve to earn money. A comparison between my two nephews can clear this point. They are brothers and one of them is 8 years older. The younger one, James, used to receive a present after each good score; however, the older one, Mark, did not this advantage because of his parents' financial problem during his childhood. Now they are both grown up, James has started his own business when he was only 18 and work day and night to make money and now he is a successful person, on the other hand, mark is a staff with an average wage and he is used to wasting his money because he did not learn how valuable and hard to earn is money.

In conclusion, according to the aforementioned explanations and examples, I agree with the rewarding student with money for high grades because it motivates them to try as hard as they can and they learn how valuable money is and learn about the real world which is useful for their adulthood.