“Some people like to live in an apartment building. Others prefer to live in a house. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.”

Since childhood, I have been told that Romans are the people who initiated the fact of erecting fences around houses. All of that portrayed an envy of isolation as well as selfishness. As a child, I would always argue that Being surrounded by people is one of the most wonderful things to live. Although many would prefer living in a house, I believe that living in an apartment building is better because it connects a person with a huge community, and apartment buildings are economical.

First, as apartment building are used by many people, one automatically becomes linked with his or her apartment-mates. The connection can be as simple as greetings or as complex and deep as empathy between people. Humans nurture relationships with people they often see. Consequently, always passing by neighbors with whom one shares an apartment building will create intimate links between them. For instance, my sister's fiance, who lives in an apartment building, used to cultivate good relationships with his apartment mates by checking on them. One day, he fell sick and all his neighbors came to assist him. All of these is due to the fact that an intimate link had grown between him and his neighbors, reason why they were eager to assist him in his pain. Living in an apartment building gives people a deep connection to the community, which will empathize with them in case of unfortune.

Second, apartment buildings are economical and help people to save their money. In fact, living in an apartment is less costy than living in a private house. In apartment buildings, electricity, water, and other bills are shared among people which constitutes an advantage for people living there. Some United Nations expatriated officer operating in Goma have changed their living habits recently. In the past, they used to rent private houses because their work required them to work in Goma for several years. However, they realized that private houses are more expensive because they had to pay many bills in addition to taxes. Currently, almost all of them shifted to apartement buildings because they discovered that renting apartment is more economical. One of the reasons is that they do not have to pay some taxes that should be paid by the owner of the compound where they live, and their electricity and water bills were reduced. Because they are an economical option, apartement buildings are more advantageous than private houses.

In conclusion, living in an apartement building benefits the most because it connects the person with the community within the building. Moreover, apartement buildings provide people with an economical option; that is, they help people save their money because people are dispensed to pay high amounts of money for bills. People should turn on apartement buildings because they benefits on a social and an economical point of view.