Someone you know plans to move to your community. What do you think that person would find pleasant or unpleasant about your community?

Seoul, my home, has its advantage and disadvantages as a place to live and work, but life here is generally agreeable. Drawbacks to life in Seoul are few and their effects can be minimized by careful planning. At the same time, Seoul’s strengths are so numerous that they outweigh the disadvantages by far.

Perhaps the greatest single drawback to life in Seoul is overwhelming. Seoul is one of the world’s 12 largest cities and has a very high population density. As a result, one must cope with crowds and traffic jams on a daily basis. Crowding and heavy traffic are simply realities of life in Seoul, however, and anyone who lives here must learn to tolerate them.

On the positive side, Seoul is much safer than major American cities such as New York, Baltimore, and Washington D.C. In the neighborhood where I live, one can walk outdoors at a late hour with no fear of assault or robbery. I have actually had misplaced or overpaid money returned to me by strangers. Violent crime is extremely rare. So is vandalism. It is difficult to imagine such an atmosphere of safety and honesty in a US city.

Almost anything one might need or wish is available in Seoul, in many cases at a modest price. If you cannot find something in Seoul, then you probably do not need it. People are usually polite. Public transportation is inexpensive and reliable. The city’s cultural opportunities are excellent. In short, if work requires you to live in a very large city. Then Seoul is probably the best place to be. That is why I recommend It to anyone who is considering moving here.