There are times when lying is acceptable. Do you agree or disagree?

The views of the topic that there are times when lying is acceptable will always differ from person to person. The topic can be explained well by the real life situations. Lying is not dangerous until and unless someone is getting hurt from it.

When a child is born he or she is not at all introduced to the word lying. He says what he sees. But at the toddler stage he begins to get introduced to the word lying. There is no such evidence or theory that proves how we get introduced to lying. It comes from inside. Family plays an important role in shaping the mind of a child. Parents are the ones who introduces the difference between truths and lies to their children. A small example for this is that during Christmas parents generally lie to their kids that Santa will bring gifts for them. But we all know that the gifts are brought by parents only. But this small lie brings plentiful of happiness and joy in kids. They tend to believe in something that doesn’t exist.

An example that can best illustrate the above topic can be a patient’s situation in a hospital. When a patient is struggling with his life on a hospital bed, the doctor never tells the patient about his full condition. Doctors tends to lie to patient telling him that he will be fine within few days. This brings a positive feeling in the patient and he’ll be able to think about the future. Now telling the truth to the patient will exacerbate the situation. The feeling of hope will totally disappear. Here lying is saving someone’s life.

As a conclusion, I would say that the truth is a good thing, but sometimes it's not the best one. Being honest is not always the right decision to make because a lie, even a white lie, can sometimes bring better results than the truth would and in such situations lying would absolutely be acceptable. Applying these truths and lies to our lives enables us to compete this world.