TPO 37

There is no shortage of debate about whether it is better to focus on one thing at a time or doing many things together. In my opinion, it is more advantageous to focus on one thing. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will elaborate in the following essay.

First of all, Because we do many things together, we do not get enough time to do one thing in a proper way, and we ended up doing it oaky and not excel in it. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I am preparing for the doctorate exams. It requires much concentration and dedication to study each subject so that I can get the high score and get into dental school. But because of my age, my parents and relatives are forcing me to get married. I try to explain to them that I need at least six months of serious study for my exams. They ignored me and just a few days back they set me up for a date. I decided to do both things parallelly. I had wasted my time by choosing to do both things together because I did not prepare well for the exams and even I broke up with the guy. If I had not elected to do things together, I would have passed my exams by now and would have got a guy for marriage as I would be able to focus more on it after exams.

Second, often companies try to hire people with multitasking skills but what they do not notice that mind power gets reduced by focusing on many things together. For example, My father had hired an employee for the company. He took an interview for the four people and decided one base on his multitasking abilities. He used to do different works on the same day. Due to it, his sharpness of mental strength to solve the problem got blunted. Now, he is not able to address critical issues. My dad realized his mistake and decided to not to look for the multitasking person for the job. In fact, a recent study by the local university suggests that the 98% of the great work done by the people who focuses on one thing at the time.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that because people are doing many things together, they are not doing it correctly. This is because they will not be able to get enough time to do things well and their mental capacity will get reduce by multitasking work.