TPO 52 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to various rules that young people have to follow, some people claim that those rules are too stringent, therefore stifling individuality. But others argue that rules are vital for the youngsters, and I am one of them.

In the family, young people must follow some rules made by parents. When I was a little child, my parents usually asked me to get back home early when I went out for playing with my friends. Parents mainly worry about the safety of their children, especially of young girl or at night. Moreover, some of young people often complain that their parents teach them saving money again and again. I really think this complaint is unreasonable because young generation are impulsive consumers by and large and they temporarily don’t know how hard it is to make money. Family rules do not end up here. Probably some of us are asked to respect the old. This rule is also of vital importance for a harmonious family.

As we grow older and enter the school or the company, there are also varied rules that we should observe. Take my school for instance, if a student’s GPA can’t maintain above 2.0, he or she has no qualification to graduate and the only way for this student is to be a lower grade student to improve the GPA. Withou this rule, many students may not concentrate on their studies and play all day. Eventually, they graduate from the university with none of professional knowledge, just has a piece of diploma.

Last but not least, except for the rules of family, school and company, we similarly have to follow the every kind of laws. Laws about legal drinking age are advantageous to young adults’ physical health. It is a common knowledge that drinking at an early age is detrimental: it may cause mental incapacity and excessive reliance on alcohol.

From the above discussion I firmly believe that rules, no matter in family, schools or society, are necessary and should be obeyed by young people. Only rule-abiding citizens are capable of living a secure and prosperous life.