TPO 64 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own Use

With the emergence of new technology and the ever-increasing pace of its improvements, people have been provided with a plethora of sources of information and news. While some people prefer to catch up with news from sources that are similar to their perspective, others, however, stand on the other side of the continuum, accumulating information from various sources. As for my opinion, I subscribe to the latter idea. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two of my most prominent reasons for advocating this viewpoint.

First and foremost, hearing news from different sources, especially those which are in contrast with our way of thinking, enables us to gain a profound comprehension of the matter. By doing so, we can hear about different opinions and see the problem from various perspectives and obtain a comprehensive insight into the problem. On the other hand, by receiving news from programs and newspapers which have similar perspectives to us, we are restricting ourselves to just one way of seeing it. This can have deleterious repercussions on our judgment. An example can drive this notion home. When a war is going on in the world, each country tries to justify its action. By hearing news from our local news programs and newspapers, we cannot conclude if our country's action is against humanity or not.

Furthermore, another equally compelling reason for corroborating my stance lies in the fact that by following news from news sources that conflict with our viewpoint, we will be equipped with unbiased insight and thought. Moreover, hearing news from various sources develops critical thinking and cognitive abilities, which, in turn, opens the door to countless providential and permanent chances to reap benefits from, owing to the fact that most people in this hectic modern era lack such characteristics. In contrast, individuals who just use news programs that are in line with their way of thinking, are more likely to be biased in favor of their ideology. This is a key factor that accounts for the growth of close-minded people in a society. In fact, the results and statistics of a research study conducted recently, indicate that most intellectuals use a plethora of sources to read about news happening around the globe.

To put it all in a nutshell, having all the aforementioned reasons into account, I strongly believe that reading and watching the news from different sources can be significantly beneficial, on the ground that we can make a better decision about the matter, and also it stops us from being prejudice against our thoughts.