In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

There are a lot of predictions have been made on how our life will look like in foreseeable future. One of the aspects concerns the usage of cars. Many people believe that new technologies will bring us new means of transports that will force people to abandon their ordinary ones. In my opinion, the number of cars will be increasing in twenty years from now. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, the growing number of population will raise the demand for cars. In most developing countries people tend to start their own family at the very young age which boosts the reproduction cycle. In addition, they usually prefer to have three or more children per family. Since such nations also do not pay much attention to ecology issues, they will buy a car for their grown-up member without any doubts. For example, we can choose the country of China, which population makes one-seventh of the worlds one. According to the recent study carried out by China Government, for the last decade, the number of personal cars has an increase of approximately 250%. If the countries' population continue to grow in the same manner, the amount of cars will further raise.

Second, cars will be much cheaper in future. It is the matter of fact that when technologies, which some time ago regarded as new and were limited available, become widespread, it reduces their cost. As a result, in twenty years most of the cars will be cheap enough to be affordable by the majority of the population. I have to admit that my opinion on this subject has been profoundly influenced by my personal experience. Four years ago I bought a new car that cost me a fortune; I had worked hard to get that car to make my life less complicated. However, few years later a friend of mine chose this particular model of the car but the price had been already reduced. If the cars had not lost its price, she probably would not have bought it and there would been for one car less that is in use today.

In conclusion, even though innovations can probably replace cars in the near future, I still believe that it will not happen this soon. Moreover, the number of cars will even increase because Earth's population is still growing and cars are becoming cheaper. I hope that this issue will be further analyzed in terms of ecological impact.