Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Some people approve media companies to produce advertising for children. In my opinion, TV adverting should not be aimed at young children as they do not understand the meaning yet, it can impact on their relations with family, and watching ads may worsen their health.

Firstly, children at that age are too small to understand whether it is advertising or not. They see the picture and they immediately want it, no matter how good or bad a product really is. They cannot compare products within the category, so young kids just rely on advertising and ask their parents to buy exactly that thing they saw on ad. Since I have a 4-year brother, who sometimes see advertisements during TV programs for kids, I know on my own experience that he does not understand the quality of the advertised product.

Secondly, watching TV ads by young children can have influence on their relationship with parents in different ways but mostly negative one. As I mentioned before, after young children see beautiful and colorful toys on TV, they would most likely want to buy it. Although some parents can afford to buy new toys every time a kid asks and, thus, improve their relations with children, most of the parents cannot afford such expenses. It is also should be considered that advertised things cost higher, as companies have to invest more money for promotion. When parents do not buy toys, children get upset and could even tell parents they do not love them at all.

Lastly, young children should be restricted from watching TV and particularly TV ads because it can affect their health. It was proved long before that watching television may worsen one’s eyesight. Besides, ads are usually pretty colorful with fast movements in it. Such activity exhaust one’s eyes that eyesight will gradually decline.

In conclusion, I would like to tell that I support the opinion that children should not be exposed to TV adverting at young age for at least three reasons: they do not understand it yet, they can spoil their relations with parents, and it could be bad for their health.