Which is better for children’s education: 9-month study and 3-month break or 3-month study and 1-month break?

At any time, improving and upgrading education system is always a big issue for human beings. How to help children to obtain a higher studying efficiency? Some experts suggest schools change their schedule to a 9-month semester and a 3-month vacation in order to obtain a better education. However, according to my perspective, this suggestion cannot achieve its goal and even lower kids’ learning efficiency in the end.

First of all, machines will break down after a long-time operation let alone little children. Longer terms of 9 months may exert bad influence in children who might become tired and exhausted. People, especially young children, will not study well if they lack (of) relaxation. Time and time again, they probably lose passion and have no interest in learning knowledge, which is a totally bad thing for a person’s lifelong education. In addition, it is a huge burden for every student to take lots of final exams due to a big amount of subjects they learned after 9-month study. Needless to say, lots of people will gain poorer academic performance under this system. Therefore, keeping on studying for 9 months is a terrible idea.

Secondly, a 3-month break is also too long for students. Seldom will kids review textbooks and knowledge they have learned. My brother, James, has two 2-month happy breaks per year now, but when a new semester starts, he has to spend a whole week to adjust himself from a relaxing holiday mold to a stressful studying schedule. Sometimes he even cannot recall the knowledge he had learned last semester which needed to master for a new term after two months. In this case, I am sure that more knowledge will be forgotten if students can have a 3-month break. That is to say, a too long vacation will badly lower students’ learning process.

In contrast, the three breaks after each 3-month study is reasonable. Young kids can have three vacations in three different seasons. It is extremely beneficial for young students to travel around in vocation. In this way, they can go skiing in Alaska in winter, swim in Hawaii in summer and appreciate Japanese blossom flowers in Spring. More various and vivid traveling experience will be got. So, children can better enjoy the off-campus life.

In conclusion, schools should not adopt the ridiculous suggestion form so-called experts for the sake of students. Children will not gain any advantages from it or even feel more pressure and less efficient.