We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is sometimes argued that we should care about people who need help in our own communities and countries because we are not able to offer supports to everyone. In my opinion, we need to help people whether they are in local areas or the other side of the world even though we have limitations of doing things.

We should give our hands to people who need help in local communities. It is easier and more effective to help local people because we are close to each other and understand what their needs are. For instance, when the bush fire put some Australia people into dangers last year, other Australians delivery food, water and clothes to the people who lost home in a short period of time. By contrast, it would take more days to receive assistance from other countries and the costs would be higher due to long-distance transportation. In this case, offering help to and receiving assistance from local communities are much better.

On the other hand, it would be wrong that people should only care about their small areas and sometimes crimes that happened in other places can impact the entire world. First of all, there are still various ways to support people in the other corner of the Earth. For example, people can donate money to some international organizations like Red Across and even do some voluntary jobs in under-developed countries, so that they can help people who live far away. Secondly, countries become more connected than ever due to globalization, which means some local issues turn to international. Take Mid East as an example, if no one offers help when they have trouble, a riot there may affect the oil industry, then the impact would spread globally.

In conclusion, we need to care about and contribute to local communities but should not ignore the people who need help in other areas.