Advantages & Disadvantages of Cashless Society.

The idea of solely relying on debit or credit card to conduct financial transaction instead of cash is widely debated, with many people claiming that the benefits it offers are no match for its drawbacks. However, I do not agree with this and I will explain in this essay.

There are a number of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that people can enjoy the convenience of carrying a bank card in their wallet, whether debit or credit, and pay instantly for their purchases. Not only can customers can feel save by without having to keep cash with them and manage money by keeping track of their expenses, but business can also save their time by not handing cash and stay safe by not keeping cash on their premises. Besides, if the cash is lost or stolen, it is gone. However, if the card is lost or stolen, one can call their financial institute and cancel it instantly. Many banks allow their customers to use mobile application to cancel a lost card, which virtually takes no time. Needless to say, all these merits stand people in good stead, when it comes to handing money safely, conveniently and effectively.

There are, however, some drawbacks which can easily overwhelm the potential benefits of using cards instead of money. The primary one stems from the fact that as many people use their cards, their activity can be tracked by their financial institute. So, there is always a risk of databases is getting hacked or personal financial information being stolen. Hence, it is apparent that why many are against of cashless society.

In the view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite having some drawbacks, the benefits of cashless society are indeed too great to ignore.