The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss why you chose that position.

English is a language of Finance, communication, business, science and it is enjoying its popularity everywhere. It is believed that the advantages English offer as a global language will outweigh its disadvantages. This essay will discuss why the popularity of English will make other local languages extinct, however, its benefits will always overshadow its drawbacks.

Globalization has led to the extinction of many indigenous languages with the spread of English. Numerous indigenous languages, local culture and dialects have already been disappeared or some are on the verge of extinction because more and more people nowadays are using English as a language for their communication. For example, many regional languages of India are already disappeared because of English and many will continue to extinct in the near future. Therefore, the way English is spreading across the world as a global language is impacting the local languages and its cultural values as well.

In contrast, being a global language English offers several advantages as well. An Arabic merchant who can communicate in English, for instance, can establish his enterprise in a native English speaking nation, which will make the work easier for his business. In short, spread of English as a global language opens up the way of communication and understanding between people from different cultures and countries.

In conclusion, this essay discussed how English has contributed in barrier free communication on one hand, however, it does play a role in disappearing of many indigenous languages worldwide. In my opinion, I believe that the benefits of English as a global language is far more than its drawbacks.