The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement with some examples.

The need for literacy in today's contemporary world has been shaped by several factors. In today's modern era, the definition of literacy from reading and writing has been swerved towards the process of learning, unlearning, and relearning and those who would not be able to do these three things would be considered illiterate. This essay will elaborate further by providing some examples that why individuals who would not be able to learn, unlearn, and relearn would be considered uneducated in this 21st century.

To begin with, today the contemporary world is shaping on a very fast pace and so the definition of literacy as well. In other words, with the advancement of technology the requisites for jobs are changing at a rapid pace which require the people to be flexible enough to learn and relearn new things and also unlearn the things which is no more in current use. This way they can suit to the new jobs and would be considered literate more than just being capable enough to read and write.

On the contrary, how advance the world would become in any context, the definition of literacy which consists of reading and writing would not change. The process of learning, unlearning, and relearning is also associated with the reading and writing so, the individuals who cannot read and write will not be able to learn, unlearn and relearn anything and would be considered uneducated. Through this way we can say that reading and writing in any century will come under the literacy concept only.

This essay discussed how learning, unlearning, and relearning are imperative in today's world with changing needs, however, reading and writing would always be a part of literacy. In my view, the individuals who can indeed learn, unlearn, and relearn anything would be considered literate in this century than just being able to read and write.