Age discrimination

Age discrimination occurs when a person is treated unfairly or not given the same opportunity in a similar situation, because of their age. Nowadays age discrimination is a highly up for debate in the modern workplace, age discrimination begins when an elderly or senior staff member is not given employment opportunities, promotions or unfairly dismissed, simply because they are old in some people’s eyes.

In this essay, I would like to discuss that age discrimination against elderly or senior workers should be halted or stopped completely. Many experts say that age discrimination, is equal to many other forms of discrimination, and must me halted or made illegal. Elderly or senior people have vast amounts of knowledge and experience in their line of work or profession, they can even help train and mentor the younger members who join their field. For and instance a 60-year old doctor can treat patients better than a doctor who is at the beginning of his medical career some people believe that age discrimination should not be illegal. Due to advancements in technologies, many elderly or senior people find it difficult and is not familiar with them for an instance if any new accounting software’s such as MYOB is introduced many of the them will either take time to learn them or say it is difficult to figure out being they are used to many of the old software’s as they have stated their career 40 years ago comparing to their younger’ counterparts. If a company employees’ a person who is 58 years old, he would most likely retire in 2 years.

However, in my opinion, age discrimination should be made illegal, as most companies can benefit from experience workforce. In conclusion, age discrimination should be made illegal in our society.