Around the world, solar energy is becoming a more popular source of energy for many households. Why do you think this is so? What are the advantages and disadvantages of using solar energy to power one’s home?

With the new technological advancements humanity is looking for new sources of energy. Solar energy is becoming more and more popular for industrial as well as household energy requirements.

There are myriad of advantages of using solar energy as a power source, the most conspicuous one is the cost effectiveness as it is the cheapest way of generating power. Secondly, since global warming is becoming more pressing issue day by day using coal and gas to generate power is not a practical solution. lastly, it decrease the load on national grid. For example in our country load shedding is normal to manage the power supply, due to which more and more people are getting interested in powering their houses using solar energy. Multinational companies have also started making solar appliances that are not only cost-effective but are also long-lasting.

The first disadvantage of solar energy is that, it is generated by the sunlight, which may not be available for enough time in many countries such as China and Russia. Secondly, the energy has to be stored in power banks so that it may be consumed during night.

In the end, in my opinion every source of energy has its pros and cons but solar energy being clean and natural has more boon than bane.