A cashless society is the one in which people use more Credit and Debit Cards instead of carrying Cash in their wallets. I believe that a community which is cashless has lots of benefits to offer. I will discuss both benefits and drawbacks of the cashless society in the upcoming paragraphs.

To begin with the demerits, first of all, if the society goes cashless altogether, it can become more spend-thrift. If people carry cards all the time and every shop and vendor has a swiping machine available, people can become impulse buyers and end up purchasing things which they do not even require. Next, as the cards are tiny, they can easily drop from the pockets, and people can lose a lot of money if they do not notice it promptly.

On the contrary, there are plenty of benefits to going cashless. The most significant advantage is that people need not carry bulky wallets all the time. These days, there are Smartphone cases available, which have a card pocket made in them. People can keep all their cards in them and save their pocket space. Furthermore, carrying cards is safer because even if people lose them, they can promptly intimate their Bank to cancel their card on the spot. But, if they have cash in their wallet, and they lose it, they can never get the money back.

Moreover, paying by card saves money in the long run. For example, if we purchase an item for $24.48 and we pay in cash, it gets rounded off, and we are supposed to pay $24.50. But if we tap the card instead, we spend the exact amount. It might not appear to be a significant saving, but when we always use the card to pay for everything, we can save a lot of money.

In conclusion, becoming cashless brings in just a few disadvantages, but if people stay more conscious, they can avail of a plethora of its advantages. Every country should go cashless and lead a secure life.