In a cashless society, people use more credit cards. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

A cashless society is one where people use credit or debit cards for all monetary transactions. They can use these cards for many purposes like shopping in malls, paying bills, online shopping etcetera. Use of credit cards and debit cards has provided people with many advantages and a few disadvantages.

To begin with, people do not need to carry any cash in their wallet for purchasing any product. Due to this, people feel more secure as there is no fear of theft of the cash because even if they lose their debit or credit card they can immediately call the bank and get the card disabled. Moreover, these days credit and debit cards are a mandatory requirement for online shopping. Also, from the perspective of transparency of transactions, the government can track any transaction at any point in time.

With all the advantages, use of credit cards also has some disadvantages. For instance, people generally become impulsive buyers as credit cards provide facilities to pay the bill in installments or next month. Furthermore, many people do not have complete knowledge of using the credit card over the internet so, they are sometimes victims of internet fraud.

To conclude, we can say that, while the use of credit cards have a few disadvantages, they have a plethora of advantages for our modern society. They are vital for the country's economic growth and provide us with safe and secure transactions.