Working and living abroad helps us to know other cultures well. How far you think working abroad has good or bad impacts on our cultural lives?

People who live in foreign countries have more opportunities to understand other cultures. However, there are many negative impacts on their own cultural lives. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the matter.

Firstly, gaining a broader view of life is one of the most beneficial advantages of living and working abroad. The culture of a foreign country is normally different from the one of our home country. For example, queuing is required when we go shopping in Western countries whereas it is not considered as a must in Asia. Next, we have to adapt and learn to tolerate the differences between cultures. For instance, Pakistani people whose country does not accept the consumption of pork meat should get used to seeing other people consuming pork meat in Australia.

On the other hand, we should realise there are many impacts which can badly affect our own culture. It is obvious that some features of a culture are not acceptable to another culture. Hence, it could lead to the situation the people who used to live and work abroad try to adapt the new culture into their own cultures which is not appropriate. Moreover, the people do not tend to adapt easily to the societies of their own countries when they go back home. This can be considered as losing their identity and cultures.

To conclude, there are both up side and down side of living and working abroad. Therefore, one should take opportunities to experiment the life style in a foreign country. However, he also has to keep in mind that he should not lose his own culture.