Cities are expanding and government should focus on building better network for public transport rather than building roads for vehicle. Do you agree or not?

here is a great upsurge in urbanization in the last few decades. Due to increasing population cities are expanding, which in turn making roads for vehicles congested. Some people opine that the government should build more roads, whereas, others reckon that it should focus on a better network for public transport. My opinion coincides with the latter notion. This essay will elaborate on the viewpoints and hence lead to a reasoned conclusion.

There is a myriad of arguments in favor of my stance. The most preponderant one is that focusing more on mass transportation can actually reduce the problem of pollution. Increasing private vehicles are generating colossal of harmful gases, which in turn is damaging our environment. Hence, providing individual better facilities in public transport can decrease personal vehicles on the road. For example, expanding the network of public transport will result in convenient and faster travel to destination. Hence, it is quite clear that the government should develop more sources of mass transportation.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that traveling through a private vehicle is more costly than public transport. Therefore, a better arrangement of mass transport can save people a lot of money. For instance, more frequent route of trains can be convenient for the office going people and can save their money because they have to travel on a daily basis. In addition, it can help the group of people who are unable to afford a personal vehicle. Hence, the expansion of mass transport has become inconspicuous in the present scenario.

In view of the arguments outlined above, it can be concluded that the government should spend more budget on public transport rather than building more roads.