As cities expanding, some people claim governments should look forward creating better networks of public transportation available for everyone rather than building more roads for vehicle owning population. What’s your opinion? Give some examples or experience to support.

Nowadays, whether the government should focus on the public transport system or should construct more roads for the population with vehicles has attracted numerous controversies and drawn the attention of the general public. I am more inclined towards the government should consummate the current public transport network due to environmental and traffic congestion point of view.

Global warming has become the most serious problem for the whole world. The only way to solve it, is to reduce the carbon dioxide emission level and undoubtedly, automobiles are emitting a considerable amount of carbon dioxide. The government should dedicate itself to develop a better public transport system and encourage more citizens to commute on public transport and this will certainly reduce a large portion of air pollution and decelerate the process of global warming.

In suburban areas, the traffic is usually congested during peak hours and it is due to the high volumes of vehicles. If the government build more roads, the number of vehicles would also increase therefore, traffic jams cannot be resolved. The problem can be solved only if the government creates a better public transport system which will effectively divert the driving population. This will improve the efficiency and reduce the traffic congestion.

In conclusion, I held the view that the government should concentrate on developing a better public transport system for these reasons, it will slow down global warming and it will reduce the traffic jam. To address this issue, the government and society should make a concerted effort to solve it.