The claim that animals have “rights” has been the subject of much debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned? Do you agree or disagree?

The topic of animals’ rights has been a heated topic of debate since the 1970s. People claim that putting animals in zoos are not giving animals their rights and should be banned. However, I believe that the zoos are in fact doing their best to preserve and promote the awareness of animals. Therefore, I disagree with the idea that zoos should be banned.

Majority of the animals that are placed in zoos are species which are facing extinction. The reason as to why they are placed in zoos is because these animals require shelter to prolong the continuation of their species. Zoos play their role and provide food and care for these animals every day. Although some people may think that zoos mistreat animals and only use them as a source of income, I strongly disagree with these.

Secondly, zoos are also a good way to promote the awareness of these animals. Many people around the world do not realize the importance of certain species in our ecosystem. Therefore, a zoo is a good place to promote and share the importance of playing our roles and helping these animals to prolong their species. This advertisement is best when introduced to children as that will lead them to understanding the importance as they grow older

In conclusion, I believe that zoos should not be banned and should continue to be funded. This is because zoos are playing an important role in spreading information regarding animal lives and they are not taking away the animals’ rights.