The claim that animals have rights has been subjected as a matter of debate since the 1970’s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned?

The role of zoos in conserving animals is widely debated, with many people claiming that zoos cannot be compared with the natural habitat that animal require to thrive. In my opinion, this proposition merits serious consideration.

There are a myriad of arguments in favor of my opinion. The most conspicuous one is that zoos usually have limited space for animal, which are rather accustomed to an open environment under the sky. Not only does this congested space that they are forced to live in hamper their normal movement, but it also keeps them from

interacting with other animal in their natural habitat in the forest. Needless to say, no matter how many facilities animals enjoy in captivity, this unnatural life in the cage cannot contribute to their effective nourishment whatsoever.

Besides, being superior to and more powerful than other animal, humans have no right to keep them captive, deteriorating the ecological balance enormously. Unlike those animal that live in the jungle without any restriction and so enjoy a spontaneous life over there, animals in captivity are sadly deprived of their basic

rights, freedom being a pivotal one. Hence, it is apparent why many are against keeping animals in the zoo.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the drawbacks of the zoo are indeed too great to ignore.