The claim that animals have rights has been subjected as a matter of debate since the 1970’s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned?

In the 1970’s, a group of people raised the question of whether non-human animals should have rights or not. Some people say they should because they have feelings like us and this fact should be taken into account. Other people believe that animals are inferior to humans, and therefore do not share the same rights. In the context of this debate, a dispute concerning the existence of zoos and how animals are treated in them has also arisen. Some people are asking if zoos are helping or hurting animals. Some people are even asking if zoos should be banned. In my opinion, zoos sometimes help animals, but sometimes they also hurt them.

I think zoos hurt animals because animals should live and flourish in their natural environments, where they can develop their natural abilities. Otherwise, they will live frustrated for not being able to relieve themselves from the natural energy they are born with. And that is the same as hurting them.

On the other hand, animals are sometimes sick or have lost their parents and need to be taken care of, or else they could easily die. Thus, specialized people who work at zoos and take care of them, in these cases are not hurting them, rather they are helping them.

In conclusion, I believe that the question is not if we should ban or not ban zoos. I think an accurate study should be conducted concerning how many animals are being hurt in zoos and how many animals are being helped. In this manner, people would have a more precise way of seeing things and would have more elements to be able to decide what is best for the animals.