The claim that animals have rights has been subjected as a matter of debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned?

Every living being on earth has a basic right of living freely in its ecosystem, whether they are humans or animals. Some people believe that a zoo is a better place for animals, whereas some people tend to believe that zoo’s are damaging the natural habitat of the animal. I am inclined to believe that natural habitat is the best place for any animal and zoo’s are violating the rights of animals.

Some zoos are not able to provide the best healthcare facilities to its animals. Zoo’s need to generate income in order to fulfil the basic necessities of animals. As per the survey from the animal organization, PETA around one million animals dies in the zoos because of no adequate facilities. The best solution is that animals should be kept in their own habitat so that they can live on their own and face the challenges of nature which will make them tough.

Zoo’s do not provide better facilities in terms of infrastructure and animals are forced to live in their confined spaces. Better infrastructure means an investment of more money which is deliberately avoided by stakeholders. As per the given data from International Animal Organization, there are around three million animals living in the zoo’s having poor infrastructure. The government should give aid to such zoo’s so that they can provide better infrastructure to animals.

Animals have a basic right to live in their natural habitat without any interference from humans. In my opinion, animals have bad psychological effects on brain when not kept in their natural habitat and they must keep free in their own natural habitat.