'It is as important for school children to study music, art and sport as it is for them to become literate and numerate.' How far do you agree with this statement? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience

Comparing the subjects like music, arts and sports with science and mathematics have initiated a new debate among educational scholars. A few people believe that subjects like music, arts and sports are essential as mathematics and science, whereas a few people tend to believe that subjects like mathematics and science have greater value in the curriculum. This essay will discuss the importance of studying subjects like science and mathematics over sports, arts and music.

First of all, subjects like music, arts and sports do not develop intelligent quotient in children. Furthermore, these subjects have positive impacts on a psychological and physical aspect of children, whereas science and mathematics will develop intelligent quotient in children which will help him to succeed in life. For instance, research conducted by the renowned University of America revealed that IQ has a key role in children at a younger age. In contrast, intelligent quotient possesses great importance in children's lives than physical aspects.

Second of all, people having degrees in science and mathematics have more job opportunities than people who have degrees in sports, arts and music. In addition, the world is growing in terms of science and technology which creates more opportunities for people from science and mathematics background. As an illustration, as per the finding of Gallop Consulting India requires ten millions of people in science and technology in the next ten years. Overall, people from science and mathematics background have more career opportunities in the future.

All things considered, looking at the future aspects children studying science and mathematics have tons of benefits and opportunities when compared with children studying music, arts and sports. In my opinion, schools must give high preference to subjects like science and mathematics over music, arts and sports.