Cohabitation is believed to bring huge advantages for young people since it enables them to fully understand each other before deciding to get married.

Marriage and kids are not for everyone and this is why couples increasingly prefer cohabitation, that is living together and having a sexual relationship without being married. Couples cohabit, rather than marry, for a variety of reasons. The foremost is to test their compatibility before deciding to get married.

Cohabitation is now the norm among young couples. In recent times, the number of couples in cohabit almost quadrupled. Many couples believe cohabitation will lower their risk of divorce as they will get the required time to fully understand each other. There are no legal formalities or rights or responsibilities to deal with. You can very well know your partner’s demeanor, conduct and character. It is a sort of test before marriage. That is why cohabitation is rising.

Some reports reveal no positive effects from cohabiting since most of the cohabit couples are the children of divorce, or have other family members or friends who have divorced. Their reasons for living together include avoiding formalities with legal marriage, convenience, financial savings. Some studies indicate that on average, marriage preceded by cohabitation is 46% more likely to end in divorce. It is believed that cohabitation carries all the worries of marriage without any of the benefits. It gets worse when one of the partner becomes ill or requires hospitalization or long-term care.

I disagree with this notion and in my view, “Cohabitation” is a misconception. I believe those who cohabitate are at a higher risk for divorce. To conclude, cohabit may be right for some people, others should make the best choice for themselves and their future.