As computers are being used more and more in education, there will be soon no role for teachers in the classroom.

Do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether Information Technology systems will occupy the role of teachers in the classroom has recently sparked heated debate drawing the undivided attention of the public. While some people posit that the machines have enough intelligence to do the job of a teacher, I strongly disagree that computers can not perform the activities of a teacher does. This essay will discuss the reasons of why tutors can not be replaced by computers along with relevent examples.

First and foremost, a human tutor in the classroom enable the students to interact face to face and communicate through his expressions. A computer can never interact with humans by showing expressions along with emotions. For instance, a survey conducted by the University of Melbourne last year revealed that 89% of the students are not able to interact with the machines that replaced their teachers as part of an experiment.

Secondly, questions from students in a classroom are super dynamic and they can never be estimated ahead. An artificial intelligence system can never deal with a situation to answer these dynamic questions, including stupid ones. A robot that has fully programmed with artificial intelligence was introduced in a first grade school in Japan last month and the results were egregious to the scientists as the robot was unable to answer few questions from 4 year old kids.

In conclusion, a fully automated intelligent computers can not replace a traditional process of teaching by a human in a class room as the machines will curb the student-teacher interactions by expressions.