Recently, the phenomenon of teaching and dealing new crime cases in prisons, and its corresponding impacts has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that replacing rehabilitation with punishment cannot be highly beneficial, such method regarded as thoroughly constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals.

To begin with, there are various reasons to use different methods in order to decrease crime rate. At first, there are many branches of offence that could not forgive by law. However, for some offensive behaviors, rehabilitation is a way to send the lawbreaker back to the society. For example, for a man that who accustomed to use of elicit drugs, it is better to help him to cure instead of throw him in the jail.

In addition, for many crimes the best method is to keep criminals in prison. But the judges can use less sever methods to punish criminals. For instance, a recent scientific research conducted by MIT University researchers in 2018 has shown that a significant number of offensive behaviors such as shop lifting and bullying could be judged to do community services and social activities as a punishment.

In conclusion, while there are several compelling arguments on this statement, I profoundly believe that rehabilitation reduce some crime rate, though for many offences extreme punishments is needed.