Do you think consumer should avoid over packed products or it is responsibility of producer to avoid extra packing of products? Give your own views or any relevant example with your own experience

Some people believe shopper should not purchase extra packed products. Other argued that manufacturer should be responsible for avoiding over packing of goods in order to limit the amount of debris thrown into the environment. In my opinion, I agree that it is producer’s decision to determine how much wrapping is enough for their products.

First, products maker is the one who understand their products the most. They know each and every details in their product, as well as ingredients to form it. Therefore, they can decide how to store their products in the best condition to sell to customers. Decision on how much it should be wrapped is also a part of the specification. For example, I bought a pack of dried fruit a month ago. When the shipper delivered it to me, it was a surprise to me because it was packed carefully in 3 plastic bags so that the fruit is crispy for a long time and not broken. Such good care increases customer loyalty to the company, therefore, maintain the number of consumer.

Second, producer’s desire is to sell their best products to consumers. Experience from consumers on the quality of the product is an award to them and is helpful to promote the product. In addition, producer not only serves customer within a town, but also distributes nationwide and in some cases, worldwide. For such far distance supply, it is important to pack the goods carefully so that customer receive it as is. For instance, I ordered a bottle of glass cleaner from Hanoi City to Ho Chi Minh City. I was happy to receive the package because it was not broken and was wrapped with proper material, as well as resort for protection. Increasing customer’s satisfaction is a major factor in business.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I support the idea that it is producer’s obligation to get out of excessive packed products as it is helpful to develop their sustainable business.