In some countries, some high school leavers are choosing to work or travel for a period of time before going to university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of those school leavers' decision. Give your own opinion.

After graduating from high school, some students tend to get a job or go on a trip for some time before university life. While I accept that there are benefits and drawbacks of this decision, I would argue that it is better to take a gap year to work or travel.

The option to get a job or travel straight away after school is disadvantageous to some extent. The main shortcoming is that a number of graduating students may start their professional careers later than their fellows who do not choose to get a job or go on a trip after high school. As a result, they will get promoted later. In addition, travelling costs them a great deal. If they travel right after high school, they will earn no money and have to ask their parents for the expense. It is not advisable that people should take this option.

On the other hand, it seems to me that high school seniors should choose to work or travel for a period of time because of some undeniable advantages. Firstly, working and traveling are both good chances for them to gain some valuable experience. My brother, for instance, travelled to London during his gap year. By spending time in London, he was able to hear, speak, read and write English language constantly which gave him countless opportunities to improve his English skills. Secondly, taking a year out helps young graduates clarify their study and career future. They can do various jobs without long-term commitment in this time, and discover what might be right for them.

In conclusion, I believe that there are many disadvantages for young people who start working or traveling prior to entering a university, although this decision has some notable disadvantages.