Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or is it the responsibility of producers?

In today’s era there is a massive competition where everyone want to be ahead of others and in this race we have forgotten what could harm our environment and our health. Over packaging food consumption has become a very big concern which has to be taken care at the earliest. We have individual responsibilities to be played from consumers and producers perspective.

Firstly from producers perspective , they have desire to see their products being popularly sold in the market and to beat other competitors they spend more on packaging rather than quality of the products which they sell. Irrespective of the fact that the packaging material they are using might not be disposable or might be consuming extra papers resulting in more deforestation, they are concentrating more on packaging with least concentration on the product inside the package. This is resulting in less expenditure in product quality and more in packaging.

On the other hand consumers, who have made an assumption of products to be good if the packaging is good and poor if the packaging is simpler have giving birth to such over packaging culture , hence it’s advisable we should start picking up the products based on quality and not based on colour or design of packaging . Because over packaged products are not only being sold to us with extra cost but also the quality of products are given least importance and are hindered.

To conclude with “Together we stand, divided we fall” is correctly proven here , since we should come out of blame game and together build a pollution free environment by sticking to quality of the products and not getting attracted by its external appearance as a consumer and on the other hand producers should adhere the rules and ensure appropriate packaging is done to retain the quality of the product alone and not for giving external beauty to the product.