The effect of a graduate degree on salaries , which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of holding a graduate degree has sparked the controversy over the potential impact on salaries in recent year. In my opinion, students studying in universities and paying full tuition fees should earn more salaries, while others may disagree with this opinion of mine. This essay will elaborate both these sides in greater details and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why students pursuing a graduate degree and paying full tuition fee should earn higher salaries, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that if the students are not rewarded for their hard work and sacrifices, then they will be demotivated. This will reduce the number of high educated individuals and scholars, which will, in turn, have an impact on the scientific advancement of the country. Thus, to keep the students motivated, people going to university and paying full fees should earn more salaries.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that a university degree should not be the criterion to judge the salary a person should earn. There are some reasons to back that up, but the most salient one is that a piece of paper cannot fully do justice to the experience or skills an individual holds. Furthermore, there are many life lessons that are learned outside of university. These skills, lessons, and experiences makes them much more qualified than those going to university. Hence, the criterion for getting higher salaries should not be a university degree.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that students should thought in such a way so that they are equipped with better skills.